In which I talk with an elf. Tipper Turnfield (Part 8)

Huh, apparently she did know a lot about dragons. After a while, she asked another question. “What do you want to know about dragons?” I picked a safe answer. “You’d better come to my house.” When she got to the house, she reacted a bit different then Naren. “Interesting” she said, and moved in for a closer look. “Grey, furry, foggy,- She paused- never seen anything like it!” “This will be fun!” She exclaimed. I was a bit dumbstruck. “Fun?! You think this is fun?! I have a live dragon IN MY HOUSE and you think this is fun?!” I collapsed into my easy chair, well worn past my breaking point. To make matters worse, she started laughing! “Why are you doing that?” I croaked, my voice hoarse. “Hobbits.” She replied. “The Elves need to visit some more Hobbits.” “They would cheer them up greatly, even in these dark times.” Despite the laughter in her voice, a dark tone conceived itself at the last part of her burst of merriment. “Dark times? What were you talking about in that meeting, anyway? Also, you have not stated why this will be fun.” I said, annoyed but vaguely interested. “Why is this fun, you ask?” she said, ignoring my first question. “Raising dragons is one of the Elves favorite pastimes. To train a living, intelligent creature to your fullest intent and having it bond with you is magnificent! I will gladly help you raise your dragon, if that’s what you want.” She replied. “Thanks!” I said, not wanting to lose her. “But isn’t raising dragons nasty and uncomfortable?” I said. “If you mean hard work, yes. But hard work isn’t nasty and uncomfortable at all, by my standards. “It isn’t?” I said, with my expression so downcast,  Terra burst out with laughter yet again. “It surely isn’t.” she answered, trying to suppress her giggles. “Alright then, we’ll do it.” I finally relented, knowing that it was the best thing to do. “Great! We start tomorrow!” and promptly left. Two odd visits in one day. Had to be a record. Exhausted from sitting, I fell asleep.

Thank’s for reading! If you’re wondering, No, the “Exhausted from Sitting” part is not a typo. I meant it. Bye!

5 thoughts on “In which I talk with an elf. Tipper Turnfield (Part 8)

Leave a comment